Non classé

Mosaic Law Commandments

A careful reading of the New Testament shows us that nine of the Ten Commandments are repeated as obligations for believers. The only exception is the commandment to keep the Sabbath. If the Mosaic law was abolished, why are these commandments repeated in the New Testament? Moreover, some commandments outside the Ten Commandments are even repeated in the New Testament. For example, Paul referred to four of the Ten Commandments as a motivation to love others because they demonstrate this principle, but then summarized one from Leviticus 19:18: « Thou shalt love thy neighbor as thyself. » So in what sense was the law abolished? Although the number 613 is mentioned in the Talmud, its actual significance increased in later medieval rabbinic literature, including many works listed or arranged by the mitzvot. The most famous of these was a list of Maimonides` 613 commandments. Many mitzvot can no longer be observed today, after the destruction of the Second Temple, although they still have religious significance. According to a standard calculation,[3] there are 77 positive commandments and 194 negative commandments that can be obeyed today, including 26 commandments that apply only in the Land of Israel. [4] In addition, there are certain temporal commandments from which women are exempt (e.g., shofar, sukkah, lulav, tzitzit, and tefillin). [5] Some depend on a person`s special status in Judaism (such as Kohanim), while others apply only to men or only women. The tzitzit (« knotted fringes ») of the tallit (« [prayer] headscarf ») are related by interpretation to the 613 commandments: The main commentator of the Torah Rashi bases the number of knots on a gematria: The word tzitzit (Hebrew: ציצת (biblical), ציצית, in its spelling Mishna) has the value 600. Each tassel has eight threads (when doubled) and five sets of knots, 13 in total. The sum of all numbers is 613.

This reflects the concept that putting on a garment with tzitzit reminds the wearer of all the commandments of the Torah. [10] « . The Jewish people did not recognize it (the triple partition) or at least did not insist on it. Rather, they divided the 613 commandments of the law into twelve families of commandments, which were then divided into twelve other families of positive commandments and twelve other families of negative commandments. 10 Rabbinic support for the number of commandments of 613 is not without contradiction. For example, Ben Azzai claimed that there are 300 positive mitzvot. [11] Even if the figure prevailed, difficulties arose in explaining the list. Some rabbis explained that this census was not an authentic tradition or that it was not logically possible to carry out a systematic enumeration.

No early work of Jewish law or biblical commentaries depended on System 613, and no early system of Jewish beliefs made acceptance of this Aggadah (non-juridical Talmudic statement) normative. A number of classical authorities have denied that it was normative: the Talmud states that the Hebrew numerical value (gematria) of the word Torah is 611, and the combination of Moses` 611 commandments with the first two of the Ten Commandments, which were the only ones heard directly by God, gives 613. [7] The Talmud assigns the number 613 to Rabbi Simlai, but other classical sages who support this view are Rabbi Simeon ben Azzai[8] and Rabbi Eleazar ben Yose of the Galileans. [9] He is quoted in Midrash Shemot Rabbah 33:7, Bamidbar Rabbah 13:15-16; 18:21 and Talmud Yevamot 47b. Here are the 613 commandments and the source of their derivation from the Hebrew Bible, as listed by Maimonides: Even when the rabbis tried to compile a list of the 613 commandments, they encountered a number of difficulties: The Jewish tradition that there are 613 commandments (Hebrew: תרי״ג מצוות, Romanized: taryag mitzvot) or mitzvot in the Torah (also known as the Law of Moses), is first recorded in the 3rd century AD. when Rabbi Simlai mentioned it in a sermon recorded in the Talmud Makkot 23b. [1] In modern parlance, the Torah can refer to the first five books of the Tanakh, as the Hebrew Bible is commonly called, to the instructions and commandments found in books 2 to 5 of the Hebrew Bible, and also to the entire Tanakh and even to the entire oral law. Among English-speaking Christians, the term « The Law » can refer to the entire Pentateuch, including Genesis, but it usually refers to the New Testament, where nomos « the Law » sometimes refers to the five books, including Genesis.

This use of the Hebrew term « Torah » (Law) for the first five books is considered misleading by John Van Seters, a scholar of the 21st century Christian Bible, because the Pentateuch « comprises about half of the law and the other half of the narrative. » [5] The law of Moses was a « preparatory gospel » that contained the principles of repentance, baptism, forgiveness of sins, and the law of carnal commandments. Since very specific revelations and instructions were given to the patriarchs, there was a law given to these Old Testament believers. Although very few details are given about this, the instructions God has given them still constitute His law, the system of principles and rules designed to direct their lives. This is described in 1. Moses 26:5 illustrates where it says, « Abraham obeyed me and kept my care, my commandments, my laws, and my laws. » 36. What are the 613 commandments contained in the law of Moses? Abinadi said the law was « a very strict law » on « achievements and ordinances » because Israel was a « stiff-necked people » (Mosiah 13:29–30). In the law of Christ, a general principle such as « As thou wilt men should do unto thee » (Matthew 7:12), a general principle such as « Do it unto thye » (Matthew 7:12) covered situations similar to those mentioned in Exodus 21.